Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bots

Development::Bots Forum for bots.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #811  
Old 10-06-2008, 09:38 AM
nicholasjohn
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubber View Post
You need to edit your makefiles to include the bot code.

1. Change the following in zone/makefile:

Code:
DFLAGS=-DEQDEBUG=5 -DCATCH_CRASH -DNO_PIDLOG -DSHAREMEM -DSPELL_EFFECT_SPAM -DFIELD_ITEMS -DCOMBINED -DAPP_OPCODE_SIZE=2 -Di386
to:

Code:
DFLAGS=-DEQDEBUG=5 -DCATCH_CRASH -DNO_PIDLOG -DSHAREMEM -DSPELL_EFFECT_SPAM -DFIELD_ITEMS -DCOMBINED -DAPP_OPCODE_SIZE=2 -Di386 -DEQBOTS
2. Then change the following in zone/makefile.common

Code:
../common/guild_base.o guild_mgr.o
to:

Code:
../common/guild_base.o guild_mgr.o task.o raids.o botRaids.o botAI.o petAI.o
3. run make
ok I did steps 1 and 2 not quite sure what you meant by step 3 ?
But i still do not have bots enabled for some reason.
Thanks in advanced for any help
  #812  
Old 10-06-2008, 09:42 AM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

Congdar;

How do you feel about adding a few more spells as bot commands?

#bot groupwolf ( don't always want to be a wolf)
#bot levitate (I hate bobbin' around like a cork in a pond all the time)
#bot seeinv (I don't even know if this is needed at all, but it takes up a buff slot)
  #813  
Old 10-06-2008, 09:44 AM
cubber
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 374
Default

Nicholasjohn:

step 3. is how you compile the source on linux. Not sure what you need to do for a windows compile.

Angelox:

I agree, I do notice that when I summon support type bots I get hit with alot of junk buffs first and never seem to have room for the good stuff.

I have levetating as a monk! That is why we have safe fall =P
  #814  
Old 10-06-2008, 09:50 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelox View Post
Congdar;

How do you feel about adding a few more spells as bot commands?

#bot groupwolf ( don't always want to be a wolf)
#bot levitate (I hate bobbin' around like a cork in a pond all the time)
#bot seeinv (I don't even know if this is needed at all, but it takes up a buff slot)
I've added some, but I'm trying to add ones that can't be easily acquired other ways. Levitate and see invis can be found on items, or if you have a wizard bot you can get levitate. I'm confused with what you have in the () you want these commands to make is so you don't lev or wolf or seeinv?
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubber View Post
step 3. is how you compile the source on linux. Not sure what you need to do for a windows compile.
see post #750
  #815  
Old 10-06-2008, 10:11 AM
nosfentora
Discordant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In a house
Posts: 377
Default

Thanks Congdar - and keep up the good work!
  #816  
Old 10-06-2008, 10:56 AM
Andrew80k
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Congdar View Post
Hopefully all the spells will be fully supported one day. Are you sure about the assist thing? You attack and they just stand there? Maybe you have them in 'guard' mode. You must use the follow command to get them to assist you again after using guard or enraged commands.
Yeah, I don't usually use the guard command as I move far too fast for all that. It's interesting. They'll follow me around and sit there while I get the crap beat out of me by 6 or 7 mobs. You know Rangers, we're not happy unless there are plenty of mobs. I have to tell them to attack each mob in turn. As long as I tell them to, they'll happily go about their business. It's like having an employee with no initiative.

By the way, I did notice one other thing. My Paladin was critting in the 8k's. Now he's got pretty damn good gear and all but that still seems a little high for a Paladin. And that may not be a BOT thing either. Maybe general issue.
  #817  
Old 10-06-2008, 11:23 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

not sure what your issue is, testing just now my bots assist me without having to do anything.
  #818  
Old 10-06-2008, 11:29 AM
nicholasjohn
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew80k View Post
Yeah, I don't usually use the guard command as I move far too fast for all that. It's interesting. They'll follow me around and sit there while I get the crap beat out of me by 6 or 7 mobs. You know Rangers, we're not happy unless there are plenty of mobs. I have to tell them to attack each mob in turn. As long as I tell them to, they'll happily go about their business. It's like having an employee with no initiative.

By the way, I did notice one other thing. My Paladin was critting in the 8k's. Now he's got pretty damn good gear and all but that still seems a little high for a Paladin. And that may not be a BOT thing either. Maybe general issue.
I noticed the same thing just now, they will not assist until i use the #bot group order attack. They just stand around and never get in the fight.
  #819  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:07 PM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

strange, like I said... I'm not seeing this problem. anything else you can tell me? Are your bots in a group? Is their gear equipped?
  #820  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:22 PM
Andrew80k
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Congdar View Post
strange, like I said... I'm not seeing this problem. anything else you can tell me? Are your bots in a group? Is their gear equipped?
Yep, equipped, in the group, working great except for the assist thing. I'm running on FC8 Linux. Compiled no problems. Can't think of anything that would cause them to not assist either, especially since you say they are working for you. Last version I ran they assisted me no problem though. So /em shrugs. At work now so really can't play with it. Maybe I'll try to throw a debug message or two in it to give some more feedback later on.
  #821  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:27 PM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

what version are you using? check the date on your zip file and/or exe's. There may be a newer version. there was a version up for a short time that had a follow bug in it.
  #822  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:35 PM
nicholasjohn
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Congdar View Post
strange, like I said... I'm not seeing this problem. anything else you can tell me? Are your bots in a group? Is their gear equipped?
bots have gear and grouped up, I made a more bots and tried no gear and still no assist. I just compiled from the SVN revision 54.

I'm doing the same things i did on the previous revision and it did work on that version.
  #823  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:42 PM
Andrew80k
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholasjohn View Post
bots have gear and grouped up, I made a more bots and tried no gear and still no assist. I just compiled from the SVN revision 54.

I'm doing the same things i did on the previous revision and it did work on that version.
Yeah, same here. I'm on r52. Bots grouped and geared.
  #824  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:49 PM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

I wonder if Angelox's name change broke it. but that's not till r54 /shrug
  #825  
Old 10-06-2008, 12:51 PM
Andrew80k
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Congdar View Post
I wonder if Angelox's name change broke it.
I'm not running that yet. I'm running the r52 which is prior to it.
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3